Teichospora Fuckel, Jb. nassau. Ver. Naturk. 23–24: 160 (1870).

MycoBank number: MB 5360; Index Fungorum number: IF 5360; Facesoffungi number: FoF 08367; 50 morphological species (Species Fungorum 2020), 19 species confirmed with molecular data.

TypeTeichospora trabicola Fuckel (designated by Fuckel 1870).

NotesTeichospora was erected by Fuckel (1870) and typified by Teichospora trabicola

Fuckel and in the meantime, another four species were also included, viz. Teichospora brevirostris, T. dura, T. morthieri and T. obducens. Teichospora has unique morphological characteristics, such as ascospores being ellipsoid to oblong, symmetrical to slightly asymmetrical, muriform, 3(–4–5) thick and dark transverse septa with 1–3 longitudinal septa and 1 or 2 V- or Y-septa in terminal cells. The asexual morph of Teichospora is reported as coelomycetous, pycnidial, with conidiophores reduced to conidiogenous cells and brown unicellular (coniothyrium-like), rarely hyaline unicellular (aposphaeria-like) or several celled brown conidia (Jaklitsch et 2016b, Wijayawardene et al. 2017a). According to the multi-gene phylogenetic analyses in this study, Teichospora species are nested together as a separate clade with high bootstrap support (Fig. 152). However, three Teichospora species (T. kingiae, T. nephelii, and T. quercus) are nested independently from the Teichospora type species (Fig. 152). Teichospora kingiae shares most close similarities with Floricola species, in having cylindrical to subcylindrical conidiogenius cells, plae brown to dark brown, 1–3- septate conidia (Kohlmeyer & Volkmann-Kohlmeyer 2000, Crous et al. 2016a). As well as, asexual morphs of T. nephelii and T. quercus differ from the other Teichospora species by ampulliform to subcylindrical conidiogenous cells and ellipsoid, apex acutely rounded, unicellular, hyaline, with a truncate base conidia (Crous et al. 2016a, 2018b). Therefore, further taxonomic work is needed to precisely resolve identification, phylogenetic position and relationships between above three species and Teichospora.