Naetrocymbaceae Höhn. [as ‘Naetrocymbeen’], Sber. Akad. Wiss. Wien, Math.-naturw. Kl., Abt. 1 118: 1200 (1909).

MycoBank number: MB 81056; Index Fungorum number: IF 81056; Facesoffungi number: FoF 07877, 41 species.

Epiphytic or Lichenicolous on twigs, wood, or on upper and lower surface of living leaves, rarely on stone. Mycelium on host surface, branched, septate, brown to grayish. Sexual morph: Ascomata perithecial or thyriothecial, superficial to immersed, globose to subglobose, comprises a single to multiple chambers, dark brown to black, ostiolate. Peridium thin, comprises hyaline to dark brown cells of textura angularis to epidermoidea. Hamathecium comprising coarse, branching pseudoparaphyses, hyaline, often with re- fractive or differentially-staining, cellular pseudoparaphyses tips. Asci 6–8-spored, bitunicate, fissitunicate, obpyriform, globose-subglobose or oblong, thick-walled near apex, with a short pedicellate, apically rounded and endotunica, lacking an ocular chamber. Ascospores 2–3 to multi- seriate, oblong to broad ellipsoid, elongate to ellipsoid, or fusiform, hyaline, olivaceous-brown when mature, 1- to multi-septate, slightly constricted at septa, wall slightly ornamented. Asexual morph: Microconidia short and rod-shaped, macroconidia known from some Leptorhaphis species (Hyde et al. 2013).

Type: Naetrocymbe Körb.

Notes: The family (as Naetrocymbeen) was originally described by von Höhnel (1909b), but without Latin or in accordance with ICBN rules. Harris (1995) validated the family name and included four genera in this family, Jarxia, Leptorhaphis, Naetrocymbe, and Tomasellia. This was followed by Lumbsch and Huhndorf (2010), Hyde et al. (2013), Doilom et al. (2018) and Wijayawardene et al. (2018). Pem et al. (2019c) included Bonaria in this family based on mor- phological characters. Sequence data is not available for this family.